Congratulations to the Frances Langford Fund for Martin County 2018-19 Grant Recipients

Alzheimer’s Community Care / Council on Aging at the Kane CenterMartin County HUGS – Creating a Dementia-Friendly Community in Martin County

ARC of Martin CountyRenovating a Community Home for Individuals with Special Needs

Boys & Girls Clubs of Martin CountyBoys & Girls Clubs K-8 Student Success Project

Helping People SucceedLanguage & Literacy Connection – Year 3

Historical Society of Martin CountyHistoric Structure Report on the House of Refuge

House of HopeProduce Packing Center

Ocean Research & Conservation AssociationUnderstanding and communicating the risk of toxin transfer from algae blooms

The Arts Council of Martin County – Arts + Technology

TCFMSL NonProfit Leadership Institute & TrainingSupport Building the Capacity of Nonprofit Executive Leadership


The Community Foundation Martin-St. Lucie announced that 10 Treasure Coast nonprofit organizations will receive nearly $345,000 in total grant funding from The Frances Langford Fund for Martin County this year.

The 2019 grant recipients, which were celebrated at a May 21 reception at the Dolphin Bar and Shrimp House in Jensen Beach, are: Alzheimer’s Community Care/Council on Aging at the Kane Center, ARC of Martin County, Boys & Girls Clubs of Martin County, Helping People Succeed, Historical Society of Martin County, House of Hope, Ocean Research & Conservation Association, The Arts Council of Martin County, and The Community Foundation’s Nonprofit Leadership Institute.

The largest grant of $90,000 will go to House of Hope for the construction of a produce packing house to improve nutrition for at-risk populations. Other initiatives include: creating a dementia-friendly community; renovating special needs group homes; improving educational outcomes and early language and literacy; a historical structure study of the House of Refuge; arts and technology; a study of the risk of toxic transfer from algae blooms; and nonprofit leadership training and support.

“Frances Langford’s philanthropic legacy continues to better our community in so many ways,” said Elizabeth A. Barbella, President & CEO of The Community Foundation Martin-St. Lucie.  “The Community Foundation is honored to carry on her good work as steward of The Frances Langford Fund.”

Members of the 2019 grant committee are: Ryan Furtwangler (Chair), Laura Cardinale, Cory Carter, John Doody, Ellen Libby, Debbie Maunus, Ellyn Stevenson, Judy Weber and Rita May Wright.

The Community Foundation Martin-St. Lucie (TCFMSL) inspires philanthropists to establish funds to impact communities in Martin and St. Lucie Counties, throughout Florida, across the United States and around the globe.  As a steward for local philanthropy, TCFMSL has strategically invested millions of dollars in hundreds of nonprofit agencies and educational institutions in its 30-year history.